Don’t Judge Me….

Dear Rory,

I have been battling a cold, sorry for the delay in this letter. I hope you are staying warm and well.

I love the picture you sent me. I do remember that trip to the beach. How could I forget the lifeguard telling us to get out of the water because we were making him nervous? I never did learn to swim properly. Did you?

Life has been crazy lately and very stressful. We are getting new computer systems at work. The holidays are fast approaching. I have decided to go back to school. I also got a new pet- today actually. I know my track record is not strong with animals, but it is not for lack of trying. He is a baby betta fish. Yes I know they grow bigger, but not that big.  I named him Shamgar.

Yes it is biblical.

Shamgar was raised to be a Judge of Israel.  Not like that- his parents didn’t give him toy gavels or anything. He was chosen by God. And Judges are not like Judy or Wapner. They are like rulers, or guardians. This is what is written of him:

31 After Ehud came Shamgar son of Anath, who struck down six hundred Philistines with an oxgoad. He too saved Israel. Judges 3:31

An oxgoad by the way is a cattle prod. How cool is that. Why is no more written about him?  I think it has the potential of an epic Hollywood movie….THIS SUMMER….ONLY ONE CAN WEILD THE CATTLE PROD…he is SHAMGAR SON OF ANATH!!!! Coming soon to theaters near you.

Can you imagine the sequel…Shamgar and the Electric Cattle Prod of Judgement!

Okay, so maybe I have had a bit too much cold medicine.

Wanna know something else….Unicorns are real…at least in the King James Version of the bible, and I quote

22 God brought them out of Egypt; he hath as it were the strength of an unicorn.- Numbers 23:22

 

What happened to them I wonder. Why did the newer version or translations get rid of the Unicorn.  In the NIV version they are ‘wild ox’. Now, I am not a zoologist, but I know there is a difference between a unicorn and wild ox. And if that is not enough to blow your mind, did you know that this verse comes from a saga that involves a talking Donkey! (Shrek not included).

26 Then the angel of the Lord moved on ahead and stood in a narrow place where there was no room to turn, either to the right or to the left. 27 When the donkey saw the angel of the Lord, she lay down under Balaam, and he was angry and beat her with his staff. 28 Then the Lord opened the donkey’s mouth, and she said to Balaam, “What have I done to you to make you beat me these three times?”

29 Balaam answered the donkey, “You have made a fool of me! If I had a sword in my hand, I would kill you right now.”

30 The donkey said to Balaam, “Am I not your own donkey, which you have always ridden, to this day? Have I been in the habit of doing this to you?”

“No,” he said.

31 Then the Lord opened Balaam’s eyes, and he saw the angel of the Lord standing in the road with his sword drawn. So he bowed low and fell facedown. Numbers 22:26-31

What I love about this, (and we are so going to talk about this narrative later) is the lack of surprise Balaam seems to have in talking to a donkey. It’s not like he says ‘YOU CAN TALK!!!’ Oh no, he just goes right into a conversation.

I know I already told you my life verse…and it is a pretty heavy verse too, but if I had to pick another one, between me and you, it would be from the book of Job 21:3…It says this…On second thought Rory, I think I will let you look that up on your own.  It’s time for more medicine.

M

One thought on “Don’t Judge Me….

Leave a comment